Poets logo

Muse, lost

the words that weren't enough

By Melissa in the BluePublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
1
Muse, lost
Photo by Kelly Sikkema on Unsplash

How do you write with love?

Can you capture the light of your smile on paper?

Let the sparks ignite the pages into a bonfire?

✯✯✯

Squeeze the love out

Dedicate every sentence, every word

Every thought

To you

✯✯✯

Write stories for you, about you

A thousand and one stories

For a thousand and one ways I love you

✯✯✯

Paint pictures with flowers you never sent me

Write stories with words you never said to me

✯✯✯

Fifty thousand words

Fifty thousand faded attempts to capture love

✯✯✯

Ten million monkeys in a room

Have an infinity to create shakespeare

But I only had four years

And there’s only one of me

✯✯✯

Try to capture it before it’s gone

Before I’m left with my heart in my hands

Before you forget how much you loved me too

✯✯✯

But you forgot

And now I’ll write with ink made from tears

It's over but it doesn't mean it wasn't beautiful.

Follow me on Instagram here.

heartbreak
1

About the Creator

Melissa in the Blue

hold my hand and we can jump straight into the cold unloving sea

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.