Poets logo

Move East

A Poem

By MaxwellJBanksPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Move East
Photo by Nick Fewings on Unsplash

As the vagabonds sleep a restless slumber

They rest of us work like wood they lumber

As the night draws in, the vagabonds wake

Waiting for a victim to try to compensate

For a life they chose when the choice was made

For a frivolous existence, the past, farewell they bade

They were never born this way

The life edged itself til normality came far away

Because normal is boring

And this life is imploring

Me to be what I want to be

But this trap of an existence is so far from me

To know thyself is an enlightened ideal

A pursuit towards something so surreal

That reality becomes ethereal

But still I’ve got to afford my next meal

Stuck between resistance and an eclectic existence

Where survival becomes insistent

And life a bit more consistent

Without the boredom bred by consistency

It will be the start of my malignancy

Then I will live life more persistently

A life beyond mortal jealousy

Can somebody please believe me

Spend a few moments to listen to me

Hear what I say, life will lead you astray

If you don’t control the beast

I‘m done, I’m moving East.

social commentary
Like

About the Creator

MaxwellJBanks

I am but a struggling poet with much to say, and an outlet that will make your day.

Enjoy Vocal!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.