Poets logo

Mountain Dreams

My Cabin in the Hills

By Viva MariePublished about a year ago 1 min read
1
Mountain Dreams
Photo by Alexander Slash on Unsplash

I had a dream not long ago

Of rolling hills and trees

Wild horses galloping

A gentle mountain breeze

I dreamt of clouds; a bright blue sky

Shining orange at the sunset

A dim-lit cabin in the hills

But wait, my dream's not done yet

I dreamt of mornings, crisp and cool

The steam hung on my breath

The fog sitting in the valley

A bowl of clouds down in the depths

I dreamt of all the pine forests

I'd walk through every day

The dancing spatters on the floor

Of the sun's bright orange rays

I dreamt of birds and frogs and bugs

That would sing to me all the while

And afterwards, as I lay to bed,

I'd only start to smile

As coyotes yipped and sang around

And wolves began to howl

In my cabin, I was safe

As the night creatures began to prowl

And crickets stirred and chirped away

And owls called, hoo, hoo!

My only thought of home that night

Was wishing I had you.

I had a dream not long ago

Of rolling hills and trees

Wild horses galloping

A gentle mountain breeze

The sun shone down onto my face

A gentle touch, a kindly smile

A voice then spoke, soft and sweet:

"Good morning; you've been sleeping a while."

nature poetry
1

About the Creator

Viva Marie

I'm Viva Marie. Ever since I was four years old, I've loved to write. Even before that, I would scribble lines in my notebooks, pretending I was writing a story. I love writing about adventures, nature and rebellious girls with big dreams.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.