Poets logo

Morning Musings

Beauty

By Sarah LouisePublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Morning Musings
Photo by Dhaya Eddine Bentaleb on Unsplash

I open my phone and see your text,

"Good morning beautiful, I hope you have a wonderful day."

Beautiful. You use that word, that illusive word, but what I see in the mirror doesn't reflect what the world says online.

Slender. clear skin. fit. healthy. These are the things I'm told and internalized are beautiful, but they don't describe me...

But I know you're sincere, know you mean your words. So I wonder, who's wrong? Whose eyes are deceived?

Then I wonder again and think 'when did this begin? what was the age I first questioned my worth?'

Worth?! We were just talking about beauty... but oh don't you see? beauty is the economy, my commodity is me.

based on my worth I'm entitled certain things... friends, success, romantic connection...

But wait, something doesn't add up, you fell for me when I wasn't slender, when I didn't have clear skin... I wasn't even wearing make up!

What then, am I left to conclude?

maybe beauty is more than my face, my body? maybe, just maybe, my worth is based on something deeper than my looks.

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Sarah Louise

I have words written on my heart. It sounds cliché, I know, but I do. After writing for over two decades, I figure it’s about time to send some of these words out into the world. Welcome to my humble beginnings.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.