Poets logo

More Than Anything

More than anything I’ve ever known

By Colleen Millsteed Published 3 years ago 1 min read
13
More Than Anything
Photo by Angel Balashev on Unsplash

More than sleeping in on weekends

More than any precious gemstone,

More than roast for lunch on Sunday

More than anything I’ve ever known.

***

More than receiving a birthday gift

More than a warm day on the beach,

More than reading my favourite book

More than the smell of a fresh peach.

***

More than laying in my bedroom

More than listening to a storm,

More than lazing in the sunshine

More than a bath that’s warm.

***

More than a hug from a friend

More than dancing in the rain,

More than a fresh cup of coffee

More than a ride on a steam train.

***

More than a deep belly laugh

More than a delicious meal,

More than a call from my Sister

More than a bowl of hot oatmeal.

***

More than a healing massage,

More than a boat ride at sea,

More than a pretty rose bud

More than a hot day’s cool breeze.

***

More than all of the things above

More than anything I’ve missed,

I love you with my heart and soul

Ever since that first breathless kiss.

*********************************

If you liked my writing, please click on the small heart underneath, near my name. Or send me a tip and let me know you enjoyed it.

****

Please click the link below my name to read more of my work. I would also like to thank you for taking the time to read this today and for all your support.

If you enjoy this piece, you may enjoy this one too.

Originally posted on Medium

love poems
13

About the Creator

Colleen Millsteed

My first love is poetry — it’s like a desperate need to write, to free up space in my mind, to escape the constant noise in my head. Most of the time the poems write themselves — I’m just the conduit holding the metaphorical pen.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.