Poets logo

Moonwake:

Narrative Poem in collaboration with Pen mysteries

By Saroyan ColesPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1
Moonwake:
Photo by Oladimeji Odunsi on Unsplash

Why racism?

Doors shutting,

against an open door,

Welcomed by the sun

Simply for her skin texture—

Even the sunlight of enlightenment

still burns, from UV rays.

White privilege will not SILENCE me!

I am, Moonwake!

Why tribalism?

Hissing at the moon, like a she-panther; for she-

Is the daughter of the night,

brilliant, bright, blaze

White Privilege will not SILENCE me!

I am moonwake!

Hands clasped tight!

Muffled the sounds of her indifference-

For she is more than innocence

She is freedom from arrogance.

White Privilege will not SILENCE me

I am, Moonwake!

Hate speeches, never leaves her loquacious.

She is not an infant-

Blowing the words of aggression

her breath is taken away.

Amongst the fray

She does not condemn

Only amend,

on the face of the wind.

White Privilege will not SILENCE me

I am, Moonwake!

Limited time on earth,

trapped in the world’s bird cage.

No regards

(Notwithstanding withal)

No value

(Negligible)

Her heart as tuneful, as a canary.

Melodious, mellifluous, mellow

Wholly words she has to say, swallowed-

A white pill, called privilege that had a bitter aftertaste

How far, must I moonwalk?

White Privilege will not SILENCE me

I am, Moonwake!

When will the mask,

feel less like clammy hands?

When will it be more neel?

Who will help her pass the impossible task?

When will,

the hands of unity fall on their Achilles heel?

The American way-

Nay,

Not Americans,

but the world

will not lay claim to my name,

I will remain above the grave,

shots will ring out for peace in my nation

White Privilege will not SILENCE me

I am, Moonwake!

social commentary
1

About the Creator

Saroyan Coles

I want to empower others with my writing. I have always dreamed of seeing my name, on something.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.