Poets logo

Money Isn’t Everything (If You Have Enough of It)

A smile is a nice thing to wear on your face, but it won’t put food on your table

By Jupiter GrantPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Top Story - July 2021
50
Money Isn’t Everything (If You Have Enough of It)
Photo by John McArthur on Unsplash

A smile is a nice thing to wear on your face,

but it won’t put food on your table.

You say not to worry ‘bout my lack of money?

Well, buddy, if I were only able!

I do not share in the great luxury

of winsome acceptance of lack.

Every hour, I toil to keep roof overhead

and a few simple threads on my back.

I have several jobs that I juggle each week,

and sleep is a luxury I can’t afford.

Cash can’t buy me love, I accept that is true.

That’s no help to me when I face my landlord.

My pockets are empty. My bank account, too.

The cupboards are bare, and my stomach growls.

And not only that, but I spend every day

with a tight knot of worry deep inside my bowels.

The bills keep on mounting. My living costs rising.

As Simply Red said, “Money’s Too Tight to Mention”.

I know that there are many more things to life,

but money, these days, is my main source of tension.

Every new bill makes my heart start to pound,

and tears of anxiety fill up my eyes.

So forgive me, but when you say money don’t matter,

you should understand, that is really a lie.

Without it, I’m hungry, and weary, and sick,

and day-to-day life is unbearably tough.

Although you may say money is not important,

you can only say that cause you have enough.

©️ Jupiter Grant, 2021

Enjoyed this poem? Please send me a tip below so I can keep writing.

Jupiter Grant is a self-published author, blogger, narrator, and audiobook producer. Buy me a coffee here: https://ko-fi.com/jupitergrant

More poetry by Jupiter Grant here on Vocal Media:

social commentary
50

About the Creator

Jupiter Grant

Writer, Poet, Narrator, Audiobook Producer, Freelancer.

As you may have guessed, Jupiter Grant is my nom de plume. I’m a purveyor of fiction, poetry, pop culture, and whatever else takes my fancy on any given day.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.