Poets logo

Mommy Loves You

A mother's love knows no boundaries

By Dharrsheena Raja SegarranPublished 2 years ago β€’ Updated 2 months ago β€’ 1 min read
45
Image from Pixabay

Old Man Winston sat on a wall

He taunted the children who walked by

Their parents often heard them call

He always escaped as he was so sly

~~~~~

Old Man Winston went too far

The children threw stones at him

Hard enough so his body began to mar

He was laughed at by Little Boy Jim

~~~~~

Old Man Winston wanted revenge

On all of those pesky children

Little Boy Jim was sitting on a bench

He crept closer while staying hidden

~~~~~

Little Boy Jim's mother, Mrs. Milton

Saw him approach her oblivious son

She quickly tackled Old Man Winston

He tried his might but couldn’t run

~~~~~

Mrs. Milton called out to her son

Dinner was cooked and ready on the table

There were dishes more than one

Meat of Old Man Winston, it's true not fable
__________________________________________
Thank you so much for reading this! πŸ₯° If you liked my writing, please leave a comment, click the heart and subscribe for free!

You might enjoy this as well:

performance poetry
45

About the Creator

Dharrsheena Raja Segarran

My mental health decline brought about a lot of darkness and I embraced it. It now flows out mostly as Dark Stories and Poetry.

❀️ Erythrophile ❀️
✨️Glitteringly Savage✨️
πŸ–€ Elegantly Disturbed Mind πŸ–€

Instagram 🀍 Facebook 🀍 Threads

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  1. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

Add your insights

Comments (36)

Sign in to comment
  • Bonnie Bowermanabout a month ago

    I love the cadence and imagery of this one. As always so well done!

  • Joe O’Connor2 months ago

    This ended up being not what I thought it would be, but I guess I should have suspected the twist after reading your stories Dharrsheena! I like the clever depiction of a mother’s love (protective), and this reads like a cautionary child’s tale.

  • Isabella Rose3 months ago

    This made me laugh, My Morbid Friend. Never underestimate the protectiveness of a good mother.

  • Alexander McEvoy4 months ago

    Oh wow!!!! Was not expecting the cannibalism angle here, Dharr, but I absolutely adore it! The flow of the verse for your story here was intoxicating (though maybe that's just my New Year's hangover talking lol) My brain isn't firing on all cylinders today but I had an absolute blast reading this!

  • Dana Crandell4 months ago

    I think this was written just before I came back to Vocal. I'm sorry I missed it then, but very glad to have read it now. What a nice, dark tale. Now I'm on my way to read Donna's followup!

  • Donna Fox (HKB)4 months ago

    I should apologize, if this story is suddenly getting a lot of reads.... it's me reading and gathering up the details for the project you and I talked about! πŸ’šβ€οΈ

  • Chloe Gilholy6 months ago

    Mrs Milton is like Mrs Lovett.

  • Veronica Coldiron6 months ago

    I'd say the old fart had it coming, but that poor kid! LOL! GREAT poem! 🀩

  • Denise E Lindquist6 months ago

    Oh my!! I should expect the twist but I don't! Will I learn?πŸ˜ŠπŸ’•β€οΈπŸ˜‰

  • Darkos7 months ago

    ahhhh ! scarry I will skip my breakfast today hahaha ! πŸ§‘πŸ’œπŸ’š

  • Donna Fox (HKB)7 months ago

    Round two and this is just as great as it was the first time!!! Even thought I knew the twist I was still excited to see it coming!! Great work D!! Too bad the tales retold is closed, w could have entered our Humpty Dumpty rehash!! πŸ˜…

  • Donna Fox (HKB)10 months ago

    Dharrsheena, I love the rhyme scheme and mood of this poem! It feels playful and child-like but also dark and twisted. It reminds me of those very old nursery rhymes I heard as a child. They all end in a similar gruesome manner. I appreciate the add-in of humour with the dark theme! Such a piece!

  • Rob Angeli10 months ago

    Great end, dark and funny!

  • Awesome β€οΈπŸ˜‰

  • Tiffany Gordon about a year ago

    Brilliant work Dharrsheena!!!!

  • Babs Iversonabout a year ago

    Wow!!!πŸ’–

  • This comment has been deleted

  • Novel Allenabout a year ago

    Diabolical twist. Lovely is your dark beautiful mind my friend. Such creativity.

  • Denise Larkin2 years ago

    Wow what an amazing story. I could visualize old man Winston from your words. Brilliant!

  • Seriously?!! Unexpected 😈😈

  • Babs Iverson2 years ago

    Wow!πŸ‘β€πŸ˜ŠπŸ’•

  • Sissi Smith2 years ago

    Oh my goodness! What a twist! :o

  • Cathy holmes2 years ago

    I'm suddenly not hungry. Lol. That was great

  • Dana Stewart2 years ago

    You’re a good karma cook!

  • Misty Rae2 years ago

    Love it! That describes the protective mama to a T!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

Β© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.