Poets logo

Mom I Got A Tattoo

By: Marina Marley

By Marina MarleyPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1

I told my mom I got a tattoo today.

And I thought I knew exactly what she would say.

I was expecting yelling, cursing and for a few stares of disbelief.

But Instead stood a woman with the expression on her face of such tremendous grief.

Because..all she saw was ink..

Ink inside the skin that she created.

She replayed all the years of wounds,

cuts and bruises that she aided.

She relived the days she hoped

And prayed that no boo boos ever left a scar.

After all, 23 of my chromosomes came from her so when she yelled “I made you who you are!”

..She was not wrong..

Although many times she felt broken and wanted to crumble she always remained so strong.

She recalled those sweet memories of when she would use unscented body wash on our sensitive baby skin..

Then fast forwarded to this moment..right now when suddenly my whole being is replaced with this new existence.

Because now ..all she saw was..ink...

Such a dirty imposture is inside.

And so she mourned and so she cried and cried ....as though I died.

heartbreak
1

About the Creator

Marina Marley

I am a mom. I am a poet, and singer-song writer. I own my own small dog business called Barks Fur Walks. If you want to know more about me and my experiences, life, you are welcome to by reading my work. Thank you for the support 💜

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.