Poets logo

Mixed Medium Project - An Animal

Day 3 of 30

By Victoria L-BPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like
Image credit: Therissa Shelburne

Bird Calls

Bird calls cackle in the spaces between the

branches -- crying, wailing, laughing, sighing.

Each twig that snaps underfoot rings out

a gunshot.

The birds will scatter in a frenzy,

call out for their young, then

fall silent and wait.

When safety is assured they return,

though I am still near. They

do not know my heart from

a mountain lion, ready to lay

bare their lives on this forest

floor.

Sometimes I call back to them

in a clumsy approximation of their

beautiful songs. I try to tell them

to flee and fear me, too. Not

all humans are safer than lions.

Their answering notes fill me with hope and dread.

They answer me in kind, but they are still watching me.

Snap. Flurry. Cry. Silence.

Creator's Note: Today is one of those days where Theri and I took the prompt in entirely different directions. We have a beautiful portrait of a beloved dog, and a poem that started as one idea and quickly transformed itself into something entirely different. I love it. I hope you do too.

art
Like

About the Creator

Victoria L-B

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.