Poets logo

Mixed Blessings

Happy and sad

By Colleen Millsteed Published 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 1 min read
12
Mixed Blessings
Photo by Assad Tanoli on Unsplash

There are times in your life

When you don’t know whether

To be happy or sad,

Bittersweet tears

Belly laughter

Sorrowful or glad.

***

I can think of a few

Listed here below

A child’s first day,

At school

Overnight stay

A weekend away.

***

High school graduation

Moving out of home

Flying overseas alone,

Getting engaged

A wedding day

All meaning he’s grown.

***

You are extremely happy

Of the young man

He’s become,

While feeling heartache

Over the little boy

Lost as the outcome.

***

If you’ve done your

Job well as a parent

The transition,

Will be seamless

While your heart

Feels opposition.

***

Happy he’s grown

With all he needs,

Sad your jobs done

But you did succeed.

*******************

If you liked my writing, please click on the small heart underneath, near my name. Or send me a tip and let me know you enjoyed it.

****

Please click the link below my name to read more of my work. I would also like to thank you for taking the time to read this today and for all your support.

If you enjoy this piece, you may enjoy this one too.

Originally posted on Medium

inspirational
12

About the Creator

Colleen Millsteed

My first love is poetry — it’s like a desperate need to write, to free up space in my mind, to escape the constant noise in my head. Most of the time the poems write themselves — I’m just the conduit holding the metaphorical pen.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Cathy holmes2 years ago

    That is wonderfully heartwarming.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.