Poets logo

Mistress Depression

The Fantastical landscape of the mind.

By Rafael Tavares Jr.Published 3 years ago 2 min read
1

I could hear the sound of booted steps breaking the eerie still of the ebony night. It was a slow monotonous walk and each step pounded into my heart. Boom boom boom boom... finally it stopped i could tell that the person was standing right behind me. Before they spoke, I knew who it was, i had not forgotten that cold dead feeling. How could i, i was embraced by it for a long time. As much of an enemy as it was, it was also a long lost lover.

"Hello beloved."

She said in that all too familiar voice. I already knew she was close by, for the depths of my writing had become of the deepest ocean. It was only when i was engulfed by her that i could write from my soul.

"You tasted the sun and thought our love had ended. Silly child you could never escape me and now here you are, burning flames swallowing you, nothing but ashes laying on the ground. The problem with kissing the sun is that sooner or later it will incinerate you. Then you will come crawling seeking my frigid caress so that your burns will not sear your very soul. You should of stayed in the comfort of your false profit and rest in the chilling iciness that i offered."

I could feel myself sinking into her embrace that familiar comfort that cried to me to accept. Her arms encircled me, these cold dead limbs wrapped around me as if serpents confining their prey. Yet my heart ached for their touch, the intimacy that they exuded.

"Give in my love relax in my embrace let my dark passionate kiss seal your fate. Sleep in my arms as i cradle you like a babe. You fought a valiant fight but accept that you are broken. Your escape never would have been successful either way. Let me be your muse as i brush your hair. Allow those beautiful melancholy words of yours to flow from your fragmented soul. There is nothing for you out there and even if there were you are too damaged."

Her words play into my ears like a symphonic soliloquy of seductive sensuality that makes it way into your ear and caresses your essence passionately making you never wanting to rip yourself from its embrace. I am so tired and she feels so good. Maybe i can rest here for a moment, maybe shes right no one will hold me as she does. Maybe i am too shattered.

Yet these fires have consumed me many a times. Each time these ashes that I am assemble then rise again. Thus forged by the furnace at the core of my being. Wings stretched to catch the wind as I fall and the gust raises me higher than before.

Not this time mistress perchance some cadence in the future but not this rendering.

sad poetry
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.