Poets logo

Mistletoe

A Christmas Special

By Ricky BluePublished 2 years ago 1 min read
1
Mistletoe
Photo by Paul Zoetemeijer on Unsplash

You said no

Under the mistletoe,

And I felt myself break

Like ornaments hitting the floor.

I feel so

Numb as I watch you go,

Past candy stripe streamers

Twenty two paces toward the front door.

Sorry if it sounds like I’m passing the blame,

I should’ve known my place.

But I’ll never think of Christmas the same

Without seeing your face.

You said no

Seven weeks ago,

Tell me why did I think

That I still stood a chance tonight.

You said so,

And though I should let you go,

I still picture a dance

Under holly and warm festive lights.

I’m in a snowstorm and my vision is blurred,

Not sure what I heard.

I feel so out of place.

Sinking below a layer of ice, take my word,

I feel so absurd.

A true holiday disgrace.

Tears flow

Down my pillow,

The winter is gone

But I’m cold

And the floor’s still a mess.

You said no

Under the mistletoe,

I can’t face it,

I’m still here

Hoping that someday you’ll

Say yes.

performance poetry
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.