Poets logo

Missing you again

A song without music

By Scott BlackmerPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1
Missing you again
Photo by Ross Parmly on Unsplash

The ice glares white from Greenland twenty thousand feet below;

Again I’m midway somewhere you are not.

The sky’s a rare forever blue . . .

And once again, I’m missing you.

I miss your busy-ness and peace; the music in your face,

the grace of nimble hands and gentle voice,

the mind that keeps aloft a score

of juggled, colored balls – or more.

Away once more, it all comes back to me – how can I bear

to miss a day’s sweet possibilities?

Your hand is somewhere mine is not;

your wired words are not enough.

For worlds away, you breathe and sleep and think and love and see . . .

without me. And even when I’m there,

sometimes we drift alone, apart

and miss the harmony of hearts

that makes the green world sing for us on our best days together.

A week apart reminds me of that music.

I have a complicated mind,

but still a simple heart defined

by missing you.

love poems
1

About the Creator

Scott Blackmer

Lawyer, writer, traveler. Launched the Traynor's World young adult series in 2020 (www.traynorsworld.com).

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.