Poets logo

Mirror

The change in what I see

By Jara DekkerPublished 5 years ago 1 min read
Like
It's not in who you are, but in what I see.

I’m staring.

I know it’s considered an impertinence,

but I’m unable to stop myself and I know you’ll pardon this offence.

You’ve forgiven me for much worse.

It’s just, you see, you seem so much different from what you used to be.

Your elegance is no longer muted, your strength no longer sedated by your reticence.

There is wisdom in your being, knowledge in your attitude, power in your stance.

These things have always been within, only now your body holds them brazenly.

Your hair shines, your skin glows, and your eyes contain the sun’s golden rays, becoming brighter with each day.

As I take it all in it dawns on me, the change has not occurred in who you are,

but in what I see.

I lean in, to kiss your beauty, feeling the cold pressure on my lips as they touch the glass.

And leaning back, I smile, admiring the admirer smiling back at me.

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Jara Dekker

A display case, a simple space, a stage.

Upon which written works of art are shared.

The results of emotion and experience married to words...

...A soul laid bare.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.