Poets logo

MINDNIGHT

For when Bruce Lee said, "Be like water," He didn't mean, be mainstream.

By SWørdPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
Like

Late last night, I fell asleep.

A sleep so deep that

I stopped counting sheep.

I figured that I'd be okay

If I didn't wake up.

I don't know what more to say;

I told you my struggles, and

Gave you so many signs.

You never pressed for more

Even when I said that I was fine.

I went from danger to stranger,

Estranged friend and back again.

Y'know, I wish,

I wish you could read my mind...

No, no, I don’t.

I'm afraid of what you'd find...

Some things you don't wanna know

Especially if you're a fake fright.

Even when you're blind, I still

Try to fight for what's right.

Humility in my hide,

I hide behind a mask.

Rays of fears and failures;

I may be a son of man,

But for help, I just can't ask.

Life bare with achievements,

I feel like I'm a disappointment.

Gotta make an adjustment:

Gotta reset.

Get that mindset.

State of mind.

A one of a kind.

Gotta be better

Like an A1 letter,

But don't be a trendsetter.

For when Bruce Lee said,

"Be like water,"

He didn't mean, be mainstream.

Instead, be like a river;

Even when nothing's what it seems,

Break past the rocks and barriers,

Burst through the seams.

They tell me not to hold back;

I'm losing control.

I'm on a kill streak;

I'm on a roll.

With this steam,

I need some stability,

I ain't Flash, ain't got that speed,

Ain't got that agility.

Not in a wheelchair,

But my mind's my disability.

They say that life's not fair,

But fair was never far.

Gotta set the bar,

Gotta be the best.

'Cause if I ain't a star,

Then why am I still shooting?

Trapped in time and space,

Like a prison for the plenty;

An enemy of the family;

But this isn't my place,

Only tryna save face.

But I'm nowhere near to sane;

Def not the same,

Mind's going wild,

You can't tame it.

But don't frame me;

Mugshot ain't worth it,

Fists like a hammer,

But they ain't like Mjolnir.

You see, death seems so near;

Life and lights too far;

Gotta fight, got no fear;

Time's got a hold on me,

It's the time bomb of here.

'Cause when I was younger,

They taught me to

Be brave and be bold.

Now imagine if you treated me

As if I had a cold;

You say that you didn't know

What to say, what to do;

All this smoke that you put out,

It's clouding your judgement.

You're leaving me in your dust,

Why does it feel like

Everything I invest in is a bust?

These empty voids,

They eat me alive;

It's like my mind's on steroids,

Like bees buzzing pollen to a hive.

Just wanna fly, get high,

Wanna cry, wanna die;

Neck hanging by some rope,

I feel like I'm choking,

I've lost all hope.

You don't wanna pry,

Only wanna tell me to pray;

Life hanging in the balance

Life hanging by a harness

Even my shadows, they haunt me;

They follow me into the darkness;

Feeling like a misfit,

At home, I don't belong.

At church, I don't fit.

At school, I'm wrong.

In my zone, I can't write songs;

I write lyrics like poems,

Poetry for my soul,

Poetry is my fast.

Can't forgive my past,

I forgive anyone but me.

Cutting ties like I cut myself

It's like everyone's cool but me.

No one gives a shit 'bout me.

Just gotta keep bluffing;

You're alive, but I'm dying;

Friendly fun-loving;

Save your pity for the living.

Share my feelings?

Nah, that's forbidden.

Eyes to the ceiling,

Insomnia's my heroin,

It's become my need.

Faith's still a seed,

Discipline's my creed,

And pride's like greed.

But I hate the spotlight.

I don't play for the attention,

It spans across, even with a

Fear of rejection,

I'm flying full flight,

Y'know, I ain't that book bright;

But I'm grateful for my brothers,

We tight.

I admit that my mind ain't right,

But it hasn't left either.

I call this mindnight,

'Cause no one understands me;

Everyone's in hindsight.

I may give up on fighting;

Bet on it 'cause I just might.

Barely getting by, so slight;

Still in the darkness,

I've lost sight;

I can't see the light.

But I'll keep saying it:

I'm alright.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

SWørd

Spoken word in silent letters.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.