Poets logo

Mind Storm

A Glimpse Into My Autistic Brain

By Misty RaePublished 3 years ago 1 min read
11
Mind Storm
Photo by Megan te Boekhorst on Unsplash

Some days the noise is too much,

The thumping of a million thoughts,

Colliding,

Like bumper cars at the fair.

It sets my skin afire,

It turns my hair on end.

I gasp for air through heavy lungs,

Wet with fearful frustration,

As the walls close, slowly, in.

I search for the calm of darkness,

Frantic to escape the harsh glow

Of warp-speed randomness,

And frantic machinations.

Silently, I lay motionless

Under the covers of my bed

Inhaling the stale, sweet blackness

Until the storm …

Has finally passed.

....................................

As someone who is both Autistic and suffers from Anxiety and PTSD, this is a pretty accurate description of what goes on in my mind. A constant barrage of thoughts, ramming violently into each other as I try to drown the noise of it all out. For me, writing helps, and hopefully, if you're reading this and you experience something similar, you'll know you're not alone.

Originally Published on Medium

sad poetry
11

About the Creator

Misty Rae

Retired legal eagle, nature love, wife, mother of boys and cats, chef, and trying to learn to play the guitar. I play with paint and words. Living my "middle years" like a teenager and loving every second of it!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.