Poets logo

Mind and Body

Last Poem of a Lost Love

By Mike BallPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Mind and Body
Photo by Ava Sol on Unsplash

Sometimes, mercifully, my mind

Gets distracted

With the business of the day

But in the stillness of the night, my body

Reminds me

Of how it misses you:

My eyes, your gaze

My hands, your hair

My nose, your neck

My lips, your breasts

My tongue, your taste

My toes, your soft, warm arches

My tummy, the small of your back

My heart, its twin

And my mind is overrun

By these reminders

Of the loss

Of the beauty

Of your touch

And while my mind can reconcile between

The thought of you with someone else

And the dampness of my pillow

My body’s memory of your love

Makes it hard to say

Goodbye

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Mike Ball

Mike Ball has recently started self-publishing short stories and longer work fiction. He is excited about exploring new publications and seeks your response to these first efforts. Bon Appetit!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.