Poets logo

Midsummer Breeze

A cold touch to a warm heart

By Future HolidaysPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Midsummer Breeze
Photo by Sebastian Staines on Unsplash

The forecast calls for a cool breeze

I open the window, I welcome it inside

The breeze feels exciting, a relief it does provide

A wave of goosebumps cover my skin, a tingling feeling spreading within

The window stays open a while

The breeze is here to stay, and that it will do every day

But now the forecast calls for frost

The breeze is no longer welcome

I run to the window to bring down the glass, the breeze is persistent, it continues to surpass

The seal is cracked, air pushing through

The temperatures dropping, what do I do?

My skin no longer tingles, I'm numb to the touch

Blood flows to my organs to protect them from ice

All because I needed my midsummers' vice

- Alex Johnson

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Future Holidays

Writing whatever comes to mind.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.