Poets logo

Merikkka

From the tides of eternity I wade, my head finally rises.

By Wyld Tha BardPublished 5 years ago 2 min read
Like

How can they understand, how I never felt welcomed in the fucking god forsaken piece of shit of a nation.

When in history class I just couldn't help but feel disrespected, with some old white washed up teacher demanding me to love and honor the father of our country, along with all the other dried up white men who never truly did shit for people who look like me.

I never saw what those people did for me.

I never understood what homage I particularity owed them.

As far as I was concerned, they never had any true reverence to those outside of their circle embedded in systematic privilege.

My ancestors tilled their fields and fixed their suppers, only to be deemed as being three fifths of a full human being, mind you, my ancestors were forced off their native land, in an all out genocide to accommodate the likes of a degenerates such as George Washington.

And as if that wasn't savage enough, to this day the leaders of this so called "free country" do everything they can to ignore and forget, to what expense was sacrificed unwillingly for such an empire.

Yet, such immense injustices still persist, as I choose to honor the forgotten by speaking out! I suddenly become the enemy, only because the machine that is your main oppressor demands this of me.

Yet I can assure you that in reality I oppose no country alone, only blatant injustice and oppression!

I never felt welcome in this country!

Patriotic holidays were always overshadowed by overwhelming feelings of worthlessness and immense sadness, from the simple fact that I never knew nothing of my ancestors, who very blood laid the foundations of this cancer that we have come to know as Amerikkka.

Merikkka.

Where it's cool to pretend.

Pretend that we won't ever have to answer for our continued blissful acts of ignorance, as some people cheer and drink and feast so merrily, bursting from the insides with such ethnocentric pride;

others weep,

others bleed,

all at the expense of democracy.

social commentary
Like

About the Creator

Wyld Tha Bard

Spoken word performing artist from Virginia but currently based in Phoenix, Arizona. Feel free to follow my IG @wyldthabard for more updated creative content. Luv and Peace ☮️💚🏳️‍🌈🌸

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.