Poets logo

Memory Blurs

A poem

By Kay HusnickPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Memory Blurs
Photo by Kelly Sikkema on Unsplash

The things that make me sad sometimes blur together now, so I can't recall whose favorite Little Debbie snack is oatmeal creme pies

or who never returned my copy of Alice in Wonderland

which heartbreak ruined baby blue or what the numbers on my phone were once supposed to mean

but I remember why The Cure puts a bad taste in my mouth and who that gray journal I won't add to is haunted by

I remember the long way home from your house to my mother's,

the reason I know what someone looks like on cocaine and how it feels to ward off fleas

I remember sneaking out at 5 a.m. & not having to sneak back in at 7,

your sister's name when I wear scrunchies

why I can't stand the pier

the reason you are who I write to even as I reference someone else

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Kay Husnick

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.