Poets logo

Memoir Of An Outsider

What does it feel like to be you?

By Sally MustangPublished 4 years ago 2 min read
Like
The Stage For Musings

I am the phantom in the distance...I am the vision that you cannot understand. You never know that I am there, but my emptiness surrounds you all the time. Your pleasure fills my space. I cannot avoid it.

I see you being caressed by him, he loves you despite how many people you have hurt, despite how many times he hurt you, you hurt him. You understand each other. Even if this love isn't forever, you have something special now...and it's perfect....

What does it feel like to be you? Feeling his love pour endlessly in you from head to toe. Getting breakfast in bed, or being comforted when you are down. Someone you can talk to, lean to...I think I had a dream about it once, and that is what I cling to. I can feel like you for a moment.

What does it feel like to be you? Having a family that you can connect to? Having generations of knowledge and support fuel you. Having harmony, and forgiveness surround you. You know your not perfect, but you don't have to be to live in this safe space. You know their not perfect, but they don't have to be, to be be loved by you. They are always there for you, even if you are dead wrong....I think I had a dream about it once, and that is who I talk to. I can experience this bliss like you for a moment.

What does it feel like to be you? Being beautiful all of your life? Having beautiful skin and hair. Never feeling the pain of having people show you how ugly they are when they attack what nature has given you? Being praised for having what others like, what others want. You never had to choose, you always were chosen. You never where chosen for being ostracized. You can be effortless with whatever you do, you are welcome everywhere. I think I had a dream about it once, and that is who holds me tight. I can experience acceptance like you for once.

I am the phantom in the distance...I am the vision that you cannot understand. You never know that I am there, but my emptiness surrounds you all the time. Your pleasure fills my space. I cannot avoid it.

You will never know that I am there, but I see you everywhere. Whenever you are about, never forget about the phantoms surrounding you.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Sally Mustang

I am a young author from Florida, and I recently rediscovered my drive and passion for writing.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.