Poets logo

#Melancholy

From the Save Me Collection

By Thanh DinhPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
1

Photo by Engin Akyurt from Pexels

I should really stop that habit

What habit?

Falling in love with everyone

And anyone

Who shows a little bit of interest in me.

I should try to stop being so lonely

And melancholy.

I guess this is what you meant

When you say love’s not for me.

I don’t know since when the audience stops cheering me on,

And instead of humoring them,

My every step would just hurt them more.

Let’s leave the stage, you say,

Let’s move on to a better place

Where love falls on you like the first snow flake of the season:

You cry for its beauty

But the moment it touches your hair:

It’s gone.

And honey, if I had given into temptation,

I would have jumped –

Instead, I’m here,

Holding onto the you and me,

Holding onto the will to live

By a thin thread

Woven from too many sleepless nights

Where I lie awake, chasing my thoughts.

Darling, do forgive me, forgive me –

I whisper breathlessly on your milky-white skin.

I always wish I could be something greater than an idiot

Who is both deaf and blind.

You look at me with the same set of eyes

Someone uses to look at a stranger:

Take the pills, honey, take the pills.

- To my beloved ones: you have endured enough -

heartbreak
1

About the Creator

Thanh Dinh

Thanh Dinh is a melancholy girl. She is on her way to find herself and along the road, she indulges herself in words and imagination. Her stuff is depressing, so please proceed with caution.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.