Poets logo

Meant to Be

alone

By nathaneyPublished 2 years ago 2 min read
Like

I feel like you’ve left me

After every phone call

Like I’m moving mountains

Just to talk to a wall

Think we’re both trying so I don’t understand

Why the points we make never seem to land

You don’t seem to get me

Maybe I don’t get you

Every time we try to lay it bare

I only leave more confused

Maybe it’s not meant to be

But what in this world was?

But fear, love and passion

On a lonely road to clarity

Maybe it’s not meant to be

But what in this world was?

But fear, love and passion

And never knowing the cause

People tell me to let go,

My head sometimes agrees

But I just can’t give up

On what my heart sees

My heart has sight

Fools say love is blind

Mine’s looking for a home

I hope you can find

I wake in the morning,

Pray you can change my mind

That mistakes I’ve made

Haven’t ruined my loves sight

Trying, we both know I don’t know how to do this right

But I didn’t know love until I met you and felt light

Maybe it’s not meant to be

But what in this world was?

But fear, love and passion

On a lonely road to clarity

Maybe it’s not meant to be

But what in this world was?

But fear, love and passion

And never knowing the cause

Might write these words down

Only to revisit them

When I realize it was all toxicity in the end

Maybe I’ll hear these words

And my world will cave in

Because I’ll miss having you

As a lover and friend

I’ll always regret the hollow feeling inside

But I did love you enough not to hide

To hope you’d dig deep enough to finally find

Why I’m broken but wouldn’t leave you behind

Maybe it’s not meant to be

But what in this world was?

But fear, love and passion

On a lonely road to clarity

Maybe it’s not meant to be

But what in this world was?

But fear, love and passion

And never knowing the cause

social commentary
Like

About the Creator

nathaney

I'm an optimistic nihilist comforted by collectivism, in a world worshipping rugged individualism.

I have no idea what I'm doing here,

or in general.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.