Poets logo

meant to be

a poem

By Brittany DeAnnPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
meant to be
Photo by Graham Holtshausen on Unsplash

meant to be

Meant to be,

I don’t believe in it.

Destiny and fate

Are not in my vocabulary.

But I can tell you this

The stars

Must not have aligned,

Because

It was not meant to be.

The distance between

My hopes and reality

are as far

as the earth

Is away from the sun.

No amount of

Space travel

No amount of

Calculated astronomy

Can make it

Any different.

But the sun

Will still shine

The earth

Will still spin

And the moon

Will still orbit

Causing the tides

To do their dance.

And I will say to myself,

It was not meant to be,

But the universe

Is still somehow

lovely

And I am here in it.

And I am still

here

in its majesty.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Brittany DeAnn

I am a reflective poet who derives inspiration from life's uncertainty and beauty. With both lightheartedness and raw emotion, I capture the truth of life in each relatable line.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.