Poets logo

me vs. reality.

poem.

By lashayPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
me vs. reality.
Photo by Jaredd Craig on Unsplash

the nerve you must have

to tell me to get out of my head

as if the exit signs weren't blindingly bright

a blinking neon red

a fever dream

where running is impossible

with inaudible screams

please believe

i've faced the darkest versions of myself

i've even talked a few of them down

only to turn around

to find a new set of eyes

peering into my mind

pouring into my soul

my body is a window

i keep myself awake sometimes

preventing myself from travelling too far

because my worlds are quite vast, endless after all

and without a trail back

i'll surely get lost

for the last time i left

i was gone for too long

you could search for me

far and wide

try to pull me out

but i'll crawl back inside

much to my own demise

this is where i was destined to die.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.