Poets logo

Me

A poem about pain and pools of honey.

By A.P.M Published 5 years ago 1 min read
Like
Pearls - Photo by A.P.M 

I hate everything about myself.

I hate how my voice is so high pitched it shatters eardrums and champagne glasses like an earthquake.

I hate how my curly hair resembles that of an untamed lion with an attitude problem.

I hate how brown my eyes are. I hate a pool of honey, a gross sweet unbearably sticky substance surrounds my iris, I hate how you can see the pain deep within them if you look hard enough.

I hate how my ADHD controls and cripples me; I hate how my mind goes ten thousand miles an hour and my lips are permanently stuck at a red light.

I hate how my DYSLEXIA forces my head into an over- flowing river of, syllables, nouns, verbs, and teacher's never-ending sighs of disappointment.

I hate how everyone hates me.

I hate how alone I feel at night, when I curl up next to my pillow and pretend it's you cradling me.

I hate how cold it is.

I hate how I choke on the words that escape my lips and leech off all the air I take into my lungs.

I want to feel as if I matter in this world.

As if I’m not just a result of carbon and bad timing, I want the scrapes and bruises on my knees to someday change the world, I want to feel your eyes on me again.

Because you made me feel like I mattered.

You made me feel warm.

You made me feel-

A.P.M

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

A.P.M

Greetings and salutations, my name is Allie and I'm an aspiring author and poet. I'm currently in my junior year of college studying social media marking and business administration.

Instagram: @ohallison_

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.