Poets logo

"maybe this time"

An Original Poem

By Chase DelaneyPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
"maybe this time"
Photo by Daniele Franchi on Unsplash

I wish I could start over

And choose to be someone you could've loved longer.

I wish I could flip the hourglass on its head

And revisit that portentous night

When I first shined light on my story's unseen pages for you

And explained how the world made me who I was,

How all my limbs were screwed on backwards from the start

And how my life was crafted with a deadline.

If I could go back, I could spin a better story for you instead

Hook left where before I'd gone right

And try to convince you I'm someone worth your time

I always wanted to tell you that I was like a flower,

That I'd waited may moons for someone who would care for me the way I needed

But I could never say those words.

I was afraid to admit I needed you because I knew someone you would be gone.

I've loved countless souls on their pilgrimage to someone or something better out there,

But none of them enough that they would stay.

But maybe if I could start all over,

Maybe I could be enough this time

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Chase Delaney

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.