Poets logo

Maybe I Am The Poison

Maybe I am the poison, when all of these years, I have always thought myself the antidote.

By Becky CurlPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Maybe I Am The Poison
Photo by Annie Spratt on Unsplash

(After “I’m Nobody! Who Are you? (260) by Emily Dickinson)

Maybe I am just over-dramatic.

Maybe I have been living in the past.

Maybe I am the one with the problem.

Maybe everything that was wrong with us

was just what was wrong within

Me.

Maybe I am the poison,

when all of these years, I have always thought myself the antidote.

Maybe I am the purveyor of pain.

Mine.

Yours.

Everyone I touch turns to ash.

I am so cold,

yet, my tongue burns even hotter than the sun.

Maybe it was all my fault.

Maybe I have been victim-blaming the wrong victim.

Maybe I abandoned myself years ago,

long before you or he or anyone else ever could.

Maybe who I am right now was never who I was supposed to be,

or maybe this is just who I have always been.

Nothing.

Nobody.

In the words of dear old Emily, are you nobody, too?

Or did I make you that way?

Did I take and take and take until the only thing you had left were the feet that took you away from me?

Did I take all of your good and replace it with all of my bad?

Maybe you were mine before we ever had a chance to become us.

I don’t think there was ever truly any “us.”

There was you.

And there was me.

A pair of nobodies.

Just trying so desperately to become someone else.

I admired.

I took.

I left you no choice but to leave.

I had to move on.

I needed more.

Maybe it was never that you or he or they were not enough.

Maybe it was me

that was always

too

much.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Becky Curl

Freelance Writer. Freelance Make-Up Artist. Teacher. Wig & Make-Up Designer. Coffee, dogs & pop-punk are my life.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.