Poets logo

Maximum Wage

By Jacob ShermanPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Top Story - September 2022
95
Maximum Wage
Photo by Giorgio Trovato on Unsplash

The environmental police drive pick-up trucks,

and I can't buy happiness at ten bucks an hour,

but I think Lady Luck might be about to change.

Word is, she's freshening up in the shower.

Further empower what's already quite overgrown,

tune into the radio, become a part of the drone;

that's the essence of society, at least the way that I was shown,

but my sense of propriety has long since been overthrown

by a syndicate of dedicated indicators

educating empty-headed haters like me.

Across the country, punks are vindicating one another.

Somehow, somehow, we set each other free.

*

Ladies and gentlemen, I'm here to entertain myself

but also you.

Oh, Hades, some sentiment has stained my selfish heart,

it's something new.

*

A hybrid by-product of a mind sucked dry

by intellectual vampirism and coffee shops

can find a home amongst its fellow homunculi,

can still dance to bridge the schism when the music drops.

I see you shouting from behind your cardboard "For sale," sign,

and I think "Hey, your predicament ain't so different from mine."

Soliciting explicitly and paying the fines,

we're all just waiting for the planets to align

so we can elevate our current state of Suburb Simulator,

trade it up, counter-incarcerate whatever holds us back.

Around the world vies a new breed of personal space invader,

those who oppose will be remembered for getting off track.

*

Tangential hexes fill my repertoire,

"the plan," is but a tertiary measure.

Experimental drugs made me see stars,

but stars alone could not remind me how to treasure.

performance poetryinspirational
95

About the Creator

Jacob Sherman

The desire to read, and perhaps to write, should be cultivated and nurtured with care throughout every stage of life. For my part I will inject what strangeness and truth that I can into our written history. Expect no constants but honesty.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  5. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (10)

Sign in to comment
  • Haas Tashabout a year ago

    This is also great

  • Powanda Sowdenabout a year ago

    Great! I want to give you credit!

  • Amy Hallabout a year ago

    I enjoyed reading this piece, well done! I subscribed to you! I am just starting out and would very much like if you have time to read some of my work and if you like it please subscribe! I look forward to reading more of your work!

  • Boni Solliabout a year ago

    Really enjoyed. Well done.

  • Ahmarovaabout a year ago

    Really enjoyed.

  • Ye Er fanabout a year ago

    👍

  • Bo Ellisabout a year ago

    Really enjoyed. Well done.

  • Angelina F. Thomasabout a year ago

    Excellence. Keep up the amazing work that ya do. Thanks.

  • The Dani Writerabout a year ago

    Screams of life for the units of society who are struggling. A poem with well-chosen terminology that works everywhere. Masterful creation!

  • Jeffrey Sparksabout a year ago

    Really enjoyed. Well done.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.