Poets logo

Masterworks

a poem for those working on themselves

By K.C. KENNINGS Published 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

I want to love you,

but I need to love me first

You are truly good, please understand

But when you shone your light on me,

I couldn't help but notice the leaks in my shadow

I've spent months trying to

Sauter together the chipped pieces of myself,

filling the cracks with gold dust

And suffice it to say I think I've done a fair job

But there's no use asking you to

Fill my cup

While it still leaks

In the missed places

Where I didn't give my healing the attention to detail it needed

I will not ask you to wait for me

Artesian works take time

But I will wish you well as I keep at my craft,

and should you happen to find yourself

a collector still

when I find myself

complete

I'll proudly show you my art.

love poems
Like

About the Creator

K.C. KENNINGS

Write from the light

Your Life Matters

She/Her

LGBTQ+

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.