Poets logo

Masks

by Donna Siggers

By Donna SiggersPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like

Is my smile one that’s fake, or one that’s true

Can you tell if I’m happy, or feeling blue?

Do my eyes sparkle from joy, or tears

Will it be a day of laughter, or filled with fears?

Am I simply okay, or hiding behind a tough exterior

Is my confidence genuine, or am I feeling inferior?

For every door I slam shut, am I severing connection

Am I building a wall of protection, or avoiding rejection?

Will I stand tall, or dance behind a veil of pain

Today might be one of freedom, or will it be a strain?

Perhaps it will be one for strength, or feeling frail

Will it be a day in which I win, or fail?

What mask do I need today, I take a moment to wonder

How will I cope, what pressures will I be placed under?

What will the day bring, how heavy will it weigh

So much depends on the exterior facade I display.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.