Poets logo

Masked

Anxiety

By Angie Gruchalski Published 2 years ago 1 min read
Like

This smile I put on is just for show. This anger inside, it grows. The dark smoke is fighting through. Dear Angel, I’m trying to find you.

I hear them laughing at me, what do they see? This neatly sculpted mask, could it be?

Paranoia has found a seat, which me will they meet? All the spectators have come to greet. My turmoil, my defeat.

Some can use this for motivation, however I am someone who just can’t win.

Anxiety has taken the wheel, whose personality shall I steal?

I’m panicking inside, confetti flying, joyride. Where is my shelter to hide?

The mask is on, ready for the show. Acceptance set in, real feelings I may never know.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Angie Gruchalski

I’m Angie, in my mid 30s and still trying to navigate life. They weren’t lieing when they said life would be hard. Experienced much heartache and much happiness.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.