Poets logo

March 19th

A poem on love through lockdown

By Mil HodgsonPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
9
March 19th
Photo by Dilan NaGi on Unsplash

Most people have felt it - that profound loneliness courtesy of lockdowns and restrictions. Being apart from friends, family, and partners has hit some harder than others, myself included.

The last year and a half for me has been particularly tough, especially since I'm away from my partner. What was a weekend trip home turned into months of isolation as a result of Covid-19. This was made harder by the fact I was now 170 miles away. The night we spent before I left is one I reflect upon frequently, and it is the subject of this short poem:

I am holding you now,

unaware that after tonight

we will not touch for months

though memories of your hands

will linger on my shoulders like

a cool breeze in the summer heat;

unaware that tomorrow on

the train, I will picture the

hall light on your cheekbones

and the sound of the flat door

closing behind you as you

leave to drive home;

unaware that in four days time

when we are locked down, I will

curse my past self for not

speaking a little sweeter,

holding you a little tighter,

kissing you a little longer.

But for now, I am holding you,

and you are holding me back -

two bodies intertwined in

a darkened room.

love poems
9

About the Creator

Mil Hodgson

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.