Poets logo

Make Pretty

~

By Sara WynnPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
Like
Make Pretty
Photo by Andy Henderson on Unsplash

It will never matter what you say,

it will never matter what you do;

reveal yourself the devil himself

and I will still make pretty of you.

Speak to me directly or do not speak,

dare you ever speak to me at all;

I want the truth streamlined word for word,

to pin you with it, right to the wall.

Sure, you can take that pin to my eye

and fasten my lash up to my brow,

to show me what you wish me to see

within the frame you wish to allow.

Spin the picture up, into, around,

painting the walls in a swirling fit;

I'll deeply inhale the toxic fumes,

and sigh just from the wonder of it.

It will never matter what you say,

it will never matter what you do;

reveal yourself the devil himself

and I will still make pretty of you.

I'll print my name on the line, right here

with a little heart over my "i,"

next to this "x," in my best cursive,

my pitiful soul no longer mine.

It will never matter what you say,

it will never matter what you do;

reveal yourself the devil himself

and I will still make pretty of you.

love poemssocial commentary
Like

About the Creator

Sara Wynn

Poetry is my language, and Earth is my playground.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.