Poets logo

Magic Powers Of Gifting A Rose

It's something to experience to be fully appreciated.

By Jason Ray Morton Published 2 years ago 2 min read
4
Photo by Uriel on Unsplash

A Lesson Learned



Like a magical Horcrux, you contain such power,

and so few times have you failed me when needed.

You've saved many days from becoming sour,

all thanks to a time in our world when you were seeded.



Trust these words of wisdom you read,

a magic card in your pocket, I give to you.

Such magic and beauty come to you from but a seed,

and with that magic, it's not hard to learn just what to do.



A stop on the way home, at the end of a look week,

just one from time to time is all that it takes.

Walking into a home and one's arms that you seek,

a loving surprise to brighten their day is all that it takes.



Drop a bundle or not, it doesn't matter,

as its magic will spread once given.

On the saddest of days, or in the most stressful of times, keeping one from getting sadder.

They'll look at you like you were sent from heaven.



Don't forget the rule that with this magic you'll break,

as you'll use it for personal benefit.

A gift like this, they'll happily take,

especially when you've done something that made you look like a miserable shit.



So buy local or order online, my not perfect friends,

and smooth things at home when trouble begins.

If you remember just a flower before that birthday ends,

you might not have to sleep on the sofas of old college friends.



As a Sargent in my late 20s I worked lots of hours, and seldom was home when I should have been. I realized the power of the flower when I sent some to "her" at work for her birthday. I realized the extra powers of flowers when I ran into the fire chief at the flower shop. He taught me the importance of a revolving charge to stay out of the dog house, and that the occasional unannounced Friday delivery was to put some goodwill in the bank. Even when I wasn't perfect, "her" friends reminded her how they didn't get flowers for their anniversaries. I never had to sleep on the couch, or out of the house.

End of Lesson

love poems
4

About the Creator

Jason Ray Morton

I have always enjoyed writing and exploring new ideas, new beliefs, and the dreams that rattle around inside my head. I have enjoyed the current state of science, human progress, fantasy and existence and write about them when I can.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.