Poets logo

Madness

For the essential workers, for all of us, please stay home until it's safe.

By Bianca WargoPublished 4 years ago 2 min read
4

Even though this madness keeps us apart

you still find a way to sing to me.

You tell me you miss me,

and I miss you too.

Your warm embrace

Your bright blue-green eyes

Your smile

Your laugh

all of that...

all of us...

I miss you.

Crazy as these times are

there will be a day when this is all over

and we can hold each other again

and laugh and sing

and adventure and make more memories...

I just want to see you again.

I just want this madness to end.

Explanation

I haven't written an explanation for any of my poems in a while, but given the current state of the world, I think it needs to be said that people need to stay home. I don't want to be stuck in the house with only my family to talk to for the whole summer. As much as I love spending time with my family, everyone needs a break from anyone in their life at some point– and this goes for significant others too. As much as I miss the man I'm talking about in this poem, I'm also taking this time to be my own person and work on my own projects. I miss adventures with him and with my friends– things like going hiking or to go see movies or to go out to eat at our favorite restaurants– I think we all miss that. Staying home right now is the best way to make sure we can get all that freedom back as soon as possible.

Going to church? Worship from home or go to a drive-in. I wrote a whole article for my writing internship on options that churches are exploring to remedy the community we're all craving right now.

Going to take a walk? Stay close to your house and try to stay at least six feet from anyone else you might run into.

Want to go to the gym and don't have weights at home? Fill empty gallons with water or sand for weights. Run outside. Move logs if you have any laying around in the yard.

There are solutions out there to stop the sperad of the coronavirus and maintain a similar routine to what you had before from home. Sure, some of those solutions require people to get creative, but creativity is important regardless of this current situation.

Stay safe, and for now, stay home. We all want things to go back to normal, but the best way to do that right now is temporarily give up some control and freedom.

heartbreak
4

About the Creator

Bianca Wargo

Psychology and English Writing double major at Kean U

1 Thessalonians 4:3-8

Leaving my old writing up to go back sometimes and see how God's changed me to be better.

PODCAST: Gold Scars (available on Spotify & Anchor)

insta/TikTok: @biancawargo

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.