Poets logo

Lurking Class

Habit Forming

By Neil HeddingsPublished 7 years ago 1 min read
Like

("The sun also rises

And the sun goes down

And hastens to the place where it arose" Eccl:1, 5)

A lot of people will

Live out their lives

In a like manner.

8 hours a day

5 days a week.

A paycheck every Friday

With the weekends free

To mow the lawn

Wash the car, or

Weather permitting

Fire up the ole grill

And knock back a few bottles while

Charring up a couple pieces of

Some poor dead animal.

My problem always seemed to

Revolve around

Forgetting to go to sleep.

Life has a way of

Getting out of hand after

Too many sunrises in a row.

Sleep deprivation

Heroin

Meth and a

Pocket full of dirty rigs.

Dope sick

Trying to hit yourself in the neck

In the Burger King bathroom

Without a mirror.

Shitting your pants and

Having to wipe

With your boxers

Before you could get well.

Sleeping in tents or

Boxes in the bushes.

Under the freeway

Over passes.

Then eventually

And finally

You do get well.

You get high.

So high that you

Forget to switch out those plates.

You get pulled over.

GTA

Transpo for sales

And then of course

Prison.

So you tell yourself

It’s only a few years or

Coulda been worse or

I been here before

Can do this shit

Standing on my head...

But in truth

I gotta quit lying to myself.

Cuz prison just sucks

And I’m really

Fucked.

One good thing

I guess...

I do go to sleep now

Every night.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Neil Heddings

Star I write so I can learn to live with who I am without destroying myself as punishment. Learn to love yourself if you ever hope to love at all.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.