Poets logo

Lovers

“I need you like the heart needs a beat, but it’s nothing new” - OneRepublic

By SammanthaPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like

They say love is an affliction, how true that can be.

Love leaves you scars, lovers like you and me.

Lovers burn fires deep in your soul.

Fires that rage out of control.

The red string of fate they say, tethers you to one.

Without them you’ll see, you’ll be alone like the sun.

A void of nothingness, vast and obscure.

My love for you lover, will always be pure.

Star crossed lovers destined for a fate doomed.

Lost in the stars above, only to be consumed.

Do you see the same stars as me when I look up at the night sky?

Do I ever cross your mind in the midst of the moonlight up so high?

Oh lover, oh lover, will I find you again?

Oh beautiful life, where will my next chapter begin?

We live a life so small and naive.

A life of love and fire, what a tangled web we weave.

A web of memories tied up in my brain.

A love like yours, even lost I cannot complain.

Lost in the cosmos, my love for you.

A delicate feeling like that of the morning dew.

So tell me lover, again, will I see you?

For our love is lasting, for that I know to be true.

Tell me my sweet lover, now where does this leave us?

For maybe this poem is just simply superfluous.

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Sammantha

I believe strongly in enjoying the little things in life. Reading and writing are both a passion of mine, something that ignites fire in the soul. A good piece of literature with some poetic writing is what I live for each evening.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.