Poets logo

Love's Deception

The Heart's Betrayal

By Patrick O'ConnorPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
3
Love's Deception
Photo by DESIGNECOLOGIST on Unsplash

I hate you more than you'll ever know.

Learning of your heart's true colors;

Observing you through the eyes of others,

Victim of your selfish deeds,

Everything falls as my broken heart bleeds.

You knew what you were doing,

Or else you didn't care,

Understanding the consequences that we would share.

Maybe I'm exaggerating

Over the stories that I've heard.

Residing fresh in my thoughts are

Every single word.

The picture of you standing there

Holding her in your arms;

A vision that tells me I shouldn't care,

Not even for your charms.

You couldn't keep your promises,

Our bond just wasn't that strong.

Ultimately, is feeling this way wrong?

Letting me know the truth would have been brave.

Lying to me just dug you a deeper grave.

Even if you had a reason

Very little could save us now.

Emotions causing open treason,

Respect is something I no longer allow.

Knowledge is power to those who are weak.

No longer obstructed from the goals that they seek.

Over time I will heal and you will be alone.

When the time comes, you'll reap what you've sown.

heartbreak
3

About the Creator

Patrick O'Connor

I often end up not being the one that writes my stories. My characters do. They always find ways to surprise me.

I started with quotes, which turned into poetry, and now I'm working on novels.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.