Poets logo

Love Runs Cold

By Thomas Mormon

By Kimi MormonPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Love Runs Cold
Photo by Vijendra Singh on Unsplash

One day we are talking, and you ask when I'm coming around

Next, I get the call you got your wings and are heaven bound

I want to pay a visit and see you with no pain or danger

But I can't and my heart is full of pain and anger

They say pain fades in time

If so, why would I write this rhyme?

You’re resting easy with no pain

While every breath I take makes my heart strain

You were the better part of me for 23 years

How do I handle all the visions and fears?

I scream to the sky your name

But the silence is the same

You said I will never be on my own

So why do I feel alone?

I got people who care

But it’s just not what we used to share

I close my eyes to see your face again

But when I open them my heart goes cold again

Til the last breath of my last day

I pray your spirit shows me the way

I may never be complete or okay

So, I will take everything day by day

I feel I’m letting you down

So, I’ll sit back and let these thoughts drown

Til the day I see your smile

I’ll live my days with a heart in exile

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Kimi Mormon

I post true crime stories. I also post poems and short stories written by my husband, Thomas Mormon.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.