Poets logo

Love Poems

Him

By Anna EllisPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Love Poems
Photo by Gemma Chua-Tran on Unsplash

Wrapped up together under blankets of kindness,

A love built on respect and compassion not blindness.

Gloomy is the morning as it’s dawning in all its glory.

Rain thack thacks on the window pane, it’s a Melbourne story.

Earlier than he usually wakes, made obvious by the shape his mouth makes.

He doesn’t care, happy to be there, among the length of her legs and the scent of her hair.

They found each other later in life;

She had already been another man’s wife.

He’d had relationships but they’d all failed,

Against the sound of her voice all others paled.

Days spent learning from one another

After years spent yearning for each other

Friend’s first lovers later.

Words pass between the two

He says ‘It was always you.’

She is lost in his eyes as she replies,

‘I drove myself mad with wanting that to be true.

And now that we’re here it feels a dream

Because I love you more than I seem

To be able to contain,

More than I can explain.

I loved you before I knew your face

Or heard your name.

She feels no need to disguise

The tears that well in her eyes.

He takes her face in his hand

His thumb behind her ear

How can I make you understand?

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Anna Ellis

I am a first nations writer, wool felt artist and theatre maker from Australia.

I'm also a Mumma of two small boys.

I've been writing and creating ever since I can remember and I'm exited to share with you all on Vocal.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.