Poets logo

LOVE?!.

The question. The answer?

By Collin MarreroPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
2
“LOVE!?.” created by Collin Marrero 2020

Why is it that love gives us strength

and yet renders us so weak?

Why does love see all the colors

And yet seems blind to what in life we seek?

When love breaks us down

And leaves us in the cold,

Why is it loves raging fire

That then saves our frozen soul?

If love is the answer

And you hold the key,

Why is it so hard to unlock the door,

Walk in and embraced me?

Clocks only go one way

But we all seem to waste time,

Fighting cause-less battles

Trying to make sense of the rhyme.

I'd like to be a soldier.

I'd like to win my war.

I'd like to go down in history,

Among the likes of Legends and Lore.

My heart pumps in my chest,

Then falls faint, almost stops.

It makes my eyes gleam

And overflow with teardrops.

Why is love such a puzzle,

A seemingly never-ending game,

Who decides who wins it all

Or is left a loser, left with pain?

Why is love the question

And yet the answer and the prize?

It's like love is part of everything;

Eternal, never dies.

Please love, if you hear this,

I placed this wish before thee.

Help me understand love,

So someone could love me.

sad poetry
2

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.