Poets logo

Love Note

A tragic poem

By Sara WilsonPublished 11 months ago 2 min read
3

The following contains things that may be triggering for some people.

I wrote this when I was going through a pretty dark time in my life. Honestly, I never thought it would see the light of day. However, I do feel safer posting things among fellow writers. I've been in a lot of dark places over the years (haven't we all?) but I've finally reached a point where I'm comfortable sharing. With that being said, I'm including a link that might be of some help for anyone who may struggle with any feelings mentioned in this poem- https://988lifeline.org/

Convinced that he was from above,

he made her think he was in love.

At first, she thought that life was great,

until he started coming home late.

Time progressed. She felt neglected.

The love they had became infected.

Days would go by. He wouldn't call.

Was this ever really love at all?

She'd call. He wouldn't answer his phone.

With each passing day, she felt more alone.

Nights spent together didn't last long.

She knew her love for him was wrong.

"I better get going. Kiss me goodbye."

"You can just leave, you don't have to lie."

He gave her another pathetic excuse.

her heart could no longer take the abuse.

"I wanna hear you say you love me.

Tell me there is no one above me.

I want answers. No more lies.

Please just let me dry my eyes."

He looked at her and shook his head.

He understood what she had said.

Then he told her what he knew.

He didn't know what else to do.

She held back tears. Her knees went weak.

She couldn't find the words to speak.

Loving him had been a big mistake.

Life had become too much pressure to take.

When he returned later that night,

His eyes beheld a tragic sight.

Blood on the walls. Blood on the door.

Blood on the mirror. She lay dead on the floor.

In her hand, she clenched a blade.

He knew how her wounds were made.

She left a message on the mirror.

He began to shake with fear.

"You can't be faithful. You don't know how.

Well, let's see you cheat on me now."

sad poetry
3

About the Creator

Sara Wilson

Lover of the strange and unusual. I write mostly horror or true crime. I occasionally publish other things, but try not to write only for the sake of having content. Feedback is always welcome and appreciated!

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Paul Stewart11 months ago

    Oh damn, Sara. I am glad you are in a better place now. This was sublime. Dark, sad, but penned masterfully. Thank you for sharing this here!

  • Lamar Wiggins11 months ago

    WOW! That last line is like a piercing dagger! Great poem and the flow was effortless. Here's a few extra hearts. 💖🖤💖

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.