Poets logo

Love Letter

Was still too chickensh*t to send it...

By N. ThomasPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
Like
Love Letter
Photo by Debby Hudson on Unsplash

Some nights I feel like Wu Tang because I wish you were here with me

I'm lying wide awake, thoughts racing, and I've gotta let them run free

I'm too shy, so I decided to write because I can't keep them contained

I've gotta lay all my cards on the table--nothing ventured, nothing gained

I've gotta let you know how I feel and shoot my shot even if I miss

It may not be Aaliyah's 4 page letter, but these verses are sealed with a kiss

I'm taking a chance with all this because I know it could backfire

But it's worth it after finally finding a man whom I can respect and admire

I know this is a lot to take in, and I'll try not to bore you

But I don't know how else to express the fact that I adore you

I'm into you like you're into the action figures on a shelf

We'd be better together, but you also make me wanna be a better version of myself

I know I have to get my mind right and get my own shit together

But I still love seeing how your mind works because you're so witty and clever

You're intelligent and ambitious and not lacking integrity

When I look into your eyes, there are o many amazing things I see

I know you've got your own life, and I don't want to complicate

I want you to still be your own man, it's one of the things I appreciate

I'm yearning for your brown skin pressed against me and desperate for those lips I can't resist

And I'm hearing your body calling to me, telling me that every inch needs to be kissed

The best part is that you stimulate not just my body, but also my mind

You're not just one 2D character, you're like several of them combined

Sometimes you're like Leo---loyal, honorable, and mellow

Sometimes you're the practical tech nerd like Donatello

Sometimes you're funny like Mikey, and I get to see the smile on your face

Sometimes you're fierce and guarded like Raphael, and I need to give you your space

You're secure in who you are and don't get caught up in a need to conform

You're respectful and caring, feeling like my calm in the storm

I'd treat you like the king you are, just without the literal crown

You're a strong, proud Black man who doesn't need to tear anyone else down

You work to build people up and guide them, a wise leader like Jaga

You and me together could create such an epic saga

I want to spend my time with you, help you make a house a home

I'll be your first lady Michelle out in public, your Harley Quinn when we're alone

I'm getting too old to try frontin', playing hard-to-get, or being coy

All I want is a life with you where we share the simple joys

True, I see us traveling the world, whether pyramids, canals, or sandy shores

But I also want to rub your back til you fall asleep then listen to you snore

I want to be there after work every day to kiss you when you come in

Then sometimes we'll barhop, play some pool, and see who wins

Whether we're in bed making love til we're both basking in the afterglow

Or getting cozy on a cold winter night listening to "Let it Snow"

Or lazy mornings watching movies on summer days with endless sunlight

Or in your arms counting stars while we camp on a quiet, crisp Spring night

Or Sundays in Fall watching football on the sofa and eating wings

I know this is all a longshot fantasy, but eternal my hope springs

I know that it's not realistic and wouldn't always be that way

Real life's more complicated, and it wouldn't be a vacation alone day-to-day

I know I'm just daydreaming, and reality is more than lovey-dovey stuff

But we can comfort and carry each other through even when times are tough

There will be arguments and struggles, more ups and downs than a roller coaster ride

But I wanna lift you up, hold you down, when you need me, be by your side

Neither of us is perfect, and I recognize we both have our flaws and quirks

But to build a life together is worth putting in the work

We can lean on each other, play to our strengths, function as a team

Continuously improving, supporting each other's aspirations and dreams

We both have our own lives, I'm not trying to get in the way cuz that's not me

I just wanna make you understand that like The Roots, baby, you got me

I dream about what could be in the future that we share

We could achieve synergy and together be an unstoppable pair

Sometimes I'll be the Monica to your T'Challa, save you when you feel you're drowning

Sometimes you'll be my Batcave, a safe place when chaos is surrounding

I could be the Selina to your Bruce, accentuating each other's potential and true worth

I could be your Dulcinea, or maybe you'll be my Sancho to bring me back down to earth

Sometimes I'll be the Betty to your Malcolm when there's injustice to take on

Sometimes we'll just laugh, and you'll be the Billy to my Veronica Vaughn

There's nothing wrong with being best friends, I'll be the Woodstock to your Snoopy

And I can be your Elaine, but I also want to be your schmoopie

We have so much in common but can appreciate the differences between

I know this may seem desperate, but maybe the ends will justify the means

love poems
Like

About the Creator

N. Thomas

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.