Poets logo

Love is not a body.

Modern-day romantic endeavors.

By Kyra LopezPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
3
Love is not a body.
Photo by Alexander Krivitskiy on Unsplash

I thought that love was a message about my eyes.

Even though the world had brown eyes, I was told that mine were brand new.

A rare crumb of dirt that lined the prettiest flowerbeds.

I was given promises of happiness, with words as sedatives to will away my mental illnesses.

If they are nice to me, then they care if I fall.

----

I thought that love was about my lips.

When they were painted red, I showed white teeth to wolves who saw that I was open to their empty cavities.

I thought that, by being talked to sensually, their late night pictures would lead me out of loneliness.

Love was a message delivered 12 hours later, a phone call that was never picked up, and a warm feeling when my cheekbones would be complimented in passing.

-----

I thought that love was when they told me: te quiero.

I held my insides tight when I said no, and became confused every time I said “don’t go.”

When they still took from the rivers that kept my body going, I excused their need to drink as a way to survive.

I thought that love was when they needed me at 4 am.

I thought that love was when they wanted a body.

But it wasn’t.

performance poetry
3

About the Creator

Kyra Lopez

Writer from the 773

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

Kyra Lopez is not accepting comments at the moment

Want to show your support? Send them a one-off tip.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.