Poets logo

Love in a Crowded Room

A poem for non-binary attraction

By Lily WinterPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Love in a Crowded Room
Photo by Külli Kittus on Unsplash

When they hug me

In that room, surrounded by people we know

They bury their face into my neck

They pull me close like it’s the last time

And inhale my scent,

Giving me permission to steal theirs

Showing me their heart

And their hand

All at once

While you see chairs and tables,

I see worlds and memories,

Lives imagined into existence

By dreams we do not know how to wish for.

And more than anything

I see things that will never be

And situations we can never indulge in

The longing

The love

All held at arm's reach

Love isn’t allowed

Not the way it’s craved.

Not lustful, but lenient

Not proud, but patient

Not fast paced, but understanding

And valuing connection above all

The world doesn’t allow it

So we settle

We settle for burying our faces in each other’s necks

And pulling each other close

As we say goodbye.

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Lily Winter

Hello! I am an eighteen year old university student, and avid writer. To learn more about me, check out my instagram-

Personal: @lily_winter4722

Business: @lily_winter_writes

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.