Poets logo

Love in a Basket

Being vulnerable is the first step to closeness - but it's hard when you know how far you have to go.

By CorwynnaPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Love in a Basket
Photo by Markus Spiske on Unsplash

Unleavened disaster, unleft and unbaked

Have I not a different heart for you to take

My basket lies cradled between your two arms

Soft pieces scattered within will come to no harm

Seen from here, you are all; tower, you cliff face

For hours, I could scale you, but it isn't a race

Unlike soft pieces that haven't shell or crust

Your entity is whole, your foundation is trust

But here lies the result, the efforts I've made

Better than nothing, held here open and afraid

Enough is a word I have never once endured

From your lips, if it'd pull free, I'd have the whole world

My basket is safe though my wares may be lacking

You carry me onward, no stumbles, no cracking

Stone eyes won't soften but stone arms will not bend

My baking's not finished;

this isn't the end

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Corwynna

I'm a 28 year old writer and biologist with a million hobbies and enough passion for all of them!

Explore my music, stories, and homebrew on my site:

https://sites.google.com/view/corwynnascorner/home

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.