Poets logo

Love Affair

The Other Woman

By A. R. AmbrosiPublished 5 years ago 1 min read
1

I wake up in the dead of night

And reach for you across our bed

You're missing

I know where you are though

I can envision her in my mind

Your hands draped lovingly

Over her perfect curves

An hourglass figure

Impossibly beautiful

I can never compare

An embrace, a dance

With her you make music

That I can never make

I can't sing

Like she can

You slide a hand along her back

Such a loving caress

She shudders and makes noises

That I cannot rival

I leave our bed

Now cold in your absence

I sneak along the moon-soaked hall

Ears pricked, hoping to hear a sound

To confirm my suspicions

And then I hear her

You have her in another room

Your voice lowered in whispers

Discussing things

I can never understand

Her voice is melodic

Both soft and booming

Depending on how you touch her

You croon to her lovingly

A song of romance

A new song

A song I don't know the lyrics to

I swallow my jealousy

How can I be upset

You've known her so much longer

Than you've known me

She's never hurt you

The way others have

She has been your lover

For so long

I must love her too

I must learn to share you

I must grow accustomed

To your love affair

With this other woman

Finally I reach the doorway

Her seductive voice

Is louder now

She makes beautiful sounds at you

In a language I can't speak

Gently I open the door

And peek inside

You look up at me

You smile

Your face full of joy

There she is in your lap

Impossibly beautiful

Impossibly perfect

Her six strings

Catching the light

love poems
1

About the Creator

A. R. Ambrosi

I like to write, if that makes me a writer, then rock on!

I started writing as a child because I ran out of stuff to read. So, I only write stuff that I like. If you like it too, awesome! Enjoy! ^_^

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.