Poets logo

Lost

By Heather Donald

By Heather DonaldPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
1

I get lost in my dream of loving you

Pretending your heart is mine

But reality crashes into my fantasy

Falling to the ground from cloud nine

My body looks like I survived the fall

The truth is I didn’t survive it at all

Still I smile and hide the bleeding

Even though my heart is pleading

I clutch your body and hold it tight

But I know I can’t win this fight

I forget sometimes you’re not mine

Until there’s something to remind

So again I glue together the pieces

The web of cracks always increases

Still I smile and hide the bleeding

Even though my heart is pleading

love poems
1

About the Creator

Heather Donald

I believe in love & kindness, that we should embrace joy, sing, dance & be silly! I am a survivor, damaged but not broken. I have a lot of love to give, free of judgment and given freely because I believe love can heal the world. 💕

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.